RealGM Hockey
Greatest Roster Series: Columbus Blue Jackets
Nick Obergan. 12th September, 2011 - 3:19 pm

Team Archives
12th Sep, 2011
Greatest Roster Series: Columbus Blue Jackets

20th Apr, 2011
Last Chance For GM Scott Howson?

Full Archive

Current Features
The ninth in a series of 30 articles, we will go through the history of every NHL franchise alphabetically and select an All-Time Roster for each.

Columbus Blue Jackets (2000 -Present)

Looking over the All-Time Columbus roster, it is easy to see why the franchise has made but one winless playoff appearance. Beyond Rick Nash, the franchise has been void of All-Star talent, and newcomer Jeff Carter will likely make this list after merely one season in Ohio; maybe James Wisniewski, too.

First Team

C: R.J. Umberger (2008-Present): 158 points in 246 games; three straight 82-game/23+ goal seasons.

W: Rick Nash (2002-Present): Franchiser leader in all categories, 592 games, 259-229-488, 77 PPG, 12 SHG, 42 GWG; 5-time All-Star; 2004 Maurice Richard Trophy winner (41 goals); Team Captain 2008-Present.

W: David Vyborny (2000-08): 2nd in all categories, 543 games, 113-204-317, 36 PPG, 7 SHG, 17 GWG; twice scored 60+ points.

D: Rostislav Klesla (2000-11): Most games (515) and points (133) by a defenseman; Columbus' first ever draft pick (4th overall).

D: Jan Hejda (2007-11): 2nd most games (302) by a defenseman, 67 points; one of few plus players in franchise history (+23).

G: Steve Mason (2008-Present): Franchise leader in shutouts (18); 77-67-23 record, 2.77 GAA, .906 SV%; 2009 Calder Trophy winner and Vezina nominee (33 wins, 10 shutouts).

Second Team

C: Antoine Vermette (2008-Present): 125 points, +7 in 181 games; posted career best 27-38-65 two years ago.

W: Geoff Sanderson (2000-06): 168 points in 261 games; 34 of 88 goals were on the power play; two 30+ goal seasons.

W: Ray Whitney (2000-03): 140 points in 151 games; 2003 All-Star; Team Captain 2002-03.

D: Fedor Tyutin (2008-Present): 2nd most points (93 in 242 games), -18; has averaged 23 minutes per game in his three seasons.

D: Ron Hainsey (2005-08): 3rd most points (83 in 213 games), -13; most power play goals (16) by a defenseman.

G: Marc Denis (2000-06): Franchise leader in wins (84-146-35), 3.01 GAA, .905 SV%, 12 shutouts.

Third Team

C: Manny Malhotra (2003-09): 3rd most games by a forward (344, 145 points).

W: Nikolai Zherdev (2003-08): 3rd in scoring (181 points in 283 games); two seasons with more than 25 goals.

W: Kristian Huselius (2008-Present): 142 points in 187 games; two 20+goal/55+ point seasons.

D: Marc Methot (2006-Present): 44 points, +5 in 229 games.

D: Kris Russell (2007-Present): 76 points, -11 in 276 games.

G: Pascal Leclaire (2002-09): 45-55-12, 2.82 GAA, .907 SV%, 10 shutouts.


Ken Hitchcock (2006-10): 125-123-36, coached the franchise's only playoff team.

Gerard Gallant (2004-06): 56-76-10

Nick is RealGM's NHL Feature Writer. You can reach him by email nick.obergan@realgm.com or on twitter @NickObergan